Dumb and Dumber

A comparison between USA ex-president George W. Bush and Spanish actual president Mariano Rajoy.

I remember the famous U.S. president, George W. Bush, and how much funny he was -when he wasn’t killing persons in Afghanistan, Iraq or somewhere-. I don’t know if he can be considered the most incapable president in U.S. history, but probably he can be considered the president saying more stupidities. There are hundreds of sites in internet collecting his bushims.

Well, now Georgie has got a competitor. The Spanish president, Mariano Rajoy, in just six months as president has got to be ridiculized in press covers around the world, despite Spain isn’t often in Anglo-Saxon media. Spain is something in the world, at last.

Dumb and Dumbster, George W. Bush and Mariano Rajoy

Personalities

We can start knowing where they come from. Of course, George comes from U.S.A. and Mariano from Spain, but which part of these nations?

George W. Bush

George comes from Texas, the land where people walks in a peculiar way.

Mariano Rajoy, half hiddenSome folks look at me and see a certain swagger, which in Texas is called walking. (George W. Bush)

Mariano comes from Galicia, Spain. It’s said that a Galician man, when he is on a staircase, will be always sideways, to avoid other people know if he is coming upstairs or downstairs. Every stereotype is unfair, but this seems to fit perfectly with Mariano. After six months as president, he is known as “the absent president” or “hidden president”

I only say something when I have something to say. (Mariano Rajoy. And It seems he usually has nothing to say)

Rajoy, hidden

But let’s them to describe themselves.

You know, I could run for governor and all this but I’m basically a media creation. I’ve never really done anything. I’ve worked for my dad. I worked in the oil industry. But that’s not the kind of profile you have to have to get elected to public office. (George W. Bush)

I think the right is much better than the left. I’ve always been a man of the right. (Mariano Rajoy)

I trust God speaks through me. Without that, I couldn’t do my job. (George W. Bush)

Bush dancing

My party is a center party, as it always has been. (Mariano Rajoy, about his political party)

I know what I believe. I will continue to articulate what I believe and what I believe. I believe what I believe is right. (George W. Bush)

The surprising thing is that I have had to defend traditional values of the left. (Mariano Rajoy, about his years in the opposition. So, he is man of the right, in a center party, defending values of the left. Do you understand now what I said above about a stereotypical Galician man?)

Leaders

But, regardless of their changing ideology, of what God tells them, etc, George and Mariano are leaders who can be trusted.

Popular Party (party of Mariano) hasn’t nor will have health co-payment in electoral program of the forthcoming elections. (Mariano Rajoy, a few months before to win elections and pass health co-payment)

You can fool some of the people all the time, and those are the ones you want to concentrate on. (George W. Bush)

We’ll update the purchasing power of pensions. This will be my only commitment to increase spending on this day. (Mariano Rajoy, ten days before to pass budget with no update of pensions)

It was amazing I won. I was running against peace and prosperity and incumbency.(George W. Bush, unaware he was still on live TV)

My intention is not to raise tax because of the difficulties being experienced by the Spanish companies and families, it does not seem the most reasonable. (Mariano Rajoy, ten days before to raise tax)

I promise you I will listen to what has been said here, even though I wasn’t here. (George W. Bush)

There will not be Spanish bank bailout. (Mariano Rajoy, eleven days before Spanish bank bailout)

Let me start off by saying that in 2000 I said, ‘Vote for me. I’m an agent of change.’ In 2004, I said, ‘I’m not interested in change, I want to continue as president.’ Every candidate has got to say ‘change.’ That’s what the American people expect. (George W. Bush)

If I have to raise the VAT, I’ll raise it, even if I had said I wasn’t going to do it. (Mariano Rajoy, finally admitting that no one should rely on his words)

Rajoy's sign

They are always aware of the problems of the people, and will do everything to help them.

Bush with babyBut oftentimes I’m asked: Why? Why do you care what happens outside of America? (George W. Bush)

If in the first six months I don’t get three general strikes, I will not be doing well. (Mariano Rajoy. He got just one general strike in six months, bad luck, Mariano)

Oftentimes people ask me, ‘Why is it that you’re so focused on helping the hungry and diseased in strange parts of the world? (George W. Bush)

Statesmen

Both are great statesmen, with huge knowledge of Economy and numbers stuff.

Mariano Rajoy

It’s clearly a budget. It’s got a lot of numbers in it. (George W. Bush)

Let me see… ehhm… Steps to create jobs? Well, the truth is that a remarkable thing has happened, I’ve written it here and I do not understand my writing. (Mariano Rajoy, during an interview in TV)

This thaw… took a while to thaw, it’s going to take a while to unthaw. (George W. Bush, on liquidity in the markets)

Unemployed people can not work. (Mariano Rajoy, explaining the problem of the unemployment)

BushBecause the… all which is on the table begins to address the big cost drivers. For example, how benefits are calculate, for example, is on the table; whether or not benefits rise based upon wage increases or price increases. There’s a series of parts of the formula that are being considered. And when you couple that, those different cost drivers, affecting those… changing those with personal accounts, the idea is to get what has been promised more likely to be… or closer delivered to what has been promised. Does that make any sense to you? It’s kind of muddled. Look, there’s a series of things that cause the… like, for example, benefits are calculated based upon the increase of wages, as opposed to the increase of prices. Some have suggested that we calculate… the benefits will rise based upon inflation, as opposed to wage increases. There is a reform that would help solve the red if that were put into effect. In other words, how fast benefits grow, how fast the promised benefits grow, if those… if that growth is affected, it will help on the red. (George W. Bush, in a brilliant contribution about something)

We are where we are. (Mariano Rajoy, explaining the Spanish economic crisis. Well, their styles are different, Mariano is more concise, perhaps to avoid speeches like the previous of George)

But both can give lessons on any subject, not just economy. Also, they care about climate balance and nature conservation.

RajoyNatural gas is hemispheric. I like to call it hemispheric in nature because it is a product that we can find in our neighborhoods. (George W. Bush)

My cousin, who is a physicist, brought together ten great scientists and none of them could predict how the weather was going to be the following day in Seville. And do they try to tell me how the weather will be within three hundred years? (Mariano Rajoy, proving there isn’t climate change)

Goodbye from the world’s biggest polluter. (George W. Bush, in parting words to Gordon Brown and Nicolas Sarkozy at his final G-8 Summit, grinning widely)

Bush with thumb up

What a shame that they haven’t coincided as presidents, they could have been a great comic couple, a funny silly and a solemn stupid.

But this is not all. There will be more in a next post, these great statesmen deserves it.

 

To be continued…
Dumb and Dumber II 
Post a comment

